Construction Market - PHX Area

conraddobler

I want my 2$
Reaction score
I quit telling people we are at bottom in prices, (I'm a Realtor). What I am telling people is that mortgage rates are killer right now, and they will NOT stay that way. With all the newly printed money hitting the system, inflation is just around the corner. Three things are saving our collective butts, imho, the individual savings rate, and the trillion or so dollars big business is sitting on and not investing/spending, and the high unemployment rate. If consumers start spending, business might start investing and hiring, which means more people to spend, and so on, and so on. Businesses are also afraid to invest not knowing if taxes will go up, but if business don't spend, and people don't spend, there won't be any money going into the tax coffers, so governments, local, state, and federal will start raising taxes. We need some spending for our governments sake and to help keep our taxes low, but then we will get inflation if we do spend and mortgage rates will go through the roof! :(

Mortgage rates are not going through the roof without destroying our financial system.

When rates go up that drops the value of every other debt instrument out there as well as drives down housing affordability, driving down prices.

There is no jobs recovery, businesses are hoarding cash because they have nothing better to do with it.

The best time to buy a house is when you want one and can afford one in any other time than a severe bubble.

I have a hunch people are going to be shocked by where rates go, shocked senseless but it's just a WAG.

82CardsGrad

7 x 70
Reaction score
Mortgage rates are not going through the roof without destroying our financial system.

When rates go up that drops the value of every other debt instrument out there as well as drives down housing affordability, driving down prices.