CBS Sportsline Inside Slant for 3/17/03 LONG POST - BUT LOTSA INFO

Stronso

Schweddy Balls
Reaction score
He came, he saw, he probably won't conquer but he might sign.

Emmitt Smith, who's toted the pigskin farther than anybody who's ever played, is anxious to prove he has something left, and the Cardinals would like for him to do it in the desert.

Smith visited on Wednesday and Thursday, and during a news conference Thursday afternoon that drew a swarm that would have been the envy of Elvis (Presley, not Grbac) said he can envision playing with a red bird on his helmet. He would have to arm-wrestle cornerback Duane Starks to wear No. 22, though.

"I think you have to absolutely believe the organization is headed in the right direction, and the Bidwills are putting their best foot forward in acquiring some players," Smith said. "Like I told them, I've been coming out here since 1988, periodically, and I fell in love with Arizona in terms of the golf courses and the amenities."

It was the first free-agent visit for Smith, who was cut by the Cowboys last month after 13 seasons in Dallas. Smith, who turns 34 in May, was due to make $7 million in salary last season, and the Cowboys wanted to play younger running backs.

Smith is in the process of scheduling visits to other teams, which he declined to name, but the Cardinals would like to sign him soon, said Rod Graves, the team's vice president for football operations. He is expected to talk to Kansas City and Tampa Bay.

Smith returned home to Dallas Thursday afternoon. The Cardinals made him an offer Friday.

The Cardinals would be signing Smith for his leadership skills as much as his running ability. They have a starting running back, Marcel Shipp, returning, although Shipp likely would move to a backup role should Smith sign.

Playing time is important, Smith said.