How hard is it to learn how to program?

Gaddabout

Plucky Comic Relief
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Switching gears to pursue a career in web development, but I'm trying to do it the hard way. On purpose. Jumping into Java now, because I feel I will be better for it by learning the lower-level stuff and argumentation. I know most web dev is done in .Net and scripting these days, but the more I take to vets I respect, the more I see their disdain for script kiddies who love their Ruby/Python/JSON worlds, but have almost no understanding of how their computer works.

Curious what the experienced programmers on here think?

I've been a journalist who's lived in the web dev world for 16 years. My focus has been on the content, but I've been required to have a toe or two in the technical side for most of my career. To date, my greatest accomplishment was rebuilding an array in a Perl script, and that's just sad to me. I have a deep understanding of HTML dating back to its infancy, and have a reasonable understanding of CSS. I need the other side of it now, the functional part.

My goal is to jump into corporate web dev, something secure and decent paying. Not interested in running my own business or working freelance.

What say ye, pros?

jf-08

Guy Smiley
Administrator
Super Moderator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't know anything about programming, but I do know some programmers.

Most work as contract employees, so that may be even more prevalent in the future.

They love it - work 18 mos on, 6 mos off, then repeat.

And the work for Schwab.

SO91

ASFN Lifer
Reaction score
Not a programmer, but I have the same inclination for different reasons. It interests me, and for the time being, it is more a hobby I want to pick up than a career. Check out http://www.reddit.com/r/learnprogramming/ if you haven't. Lots of good resources there.

Linderbee

Let's GO, CARDINALS!
Supporting Member
Reaction score