What a Hard Draft to Evaluate

Harry

ASFN Consultant and Senior Writer
Reaction score
Looking at how various individual picks were graded it’s clear many of the high grades were predicated on next years pick, which are great. Looking at this year only I give it a C. As a former college instructor I know that means average.

It seems clear to me as they focused on developable players, not immediate impact guys. Johnson should start at left guard. He’s played there before. There is no substitute for game action. Only QBs learn by watching. He should only play LT if Humphries is injured or late in a decided game. Johnson is a solid choice. He’s not a flashy pick, but he’s foundational.

Oujari is a polarizing choice. Many of my colleagues think he has a great future. Some place him ahead of his brother. He can likely pressure the QB. I’m not certain he can close the deal. I’m also thinking he will be weak against the run. If Oujari can build power, he may prove a good choice.

Williams is yet another polarizing player. He was more highly rated prior to his recent injury. The good points are he has a fluid backpedal though he does high step a little. He has decent burst to close on the receiver. He is usually positioned well to compete for the ball. He has decent hands also tackles effectively. He has a solid punch when playing press coverage, though NFL WRs are tougher. Williams’ game estimated speed is 4.50, so covering explosive receivers will be challenging. His high stepping causes transition smoothness coming out of the break, thus opening the receiver. This is compounded by giving too much cushion to start with. He can be intimidated when covering an aggressive receiver who fights hard for the ball. Williams’ career QB rating was 100.6, though it did come down to 84 in 2022. He reminds me of Wilson in that he just usually gives the receiver enough room to catch the ball, then settles for a tackle. He’s not a long term solution, though he’s a good athlete.