Why Lost works and Heroes doesn't

Gaddabout

Plucky Comic Relief
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I was paid to write this article for a magazine that has folded before printing its debut issue. Perhaps it was because they paid people like me to write columns like this. I'm not posting the actual column, I'm posting the impromtu e-mail that was used as a pitch. I'm no lawyer, but I think I'm getting around copyright issues somehow. Consider me delusional (and extremely bored).

--------------

There's only one great mythology in all of humanity and that is the mythology of hope, that there is something greater than us that can prevent us from becoming our own worst fears. Without the story that tells us we are better than we seem, we are capable of being better, we have no hope.

Throughout the history of man we have told and retold this mythology, each generation choosing a difference cast of characters to reinforce the same morals that encourage us to get out of bed each morning, to discourage our wills from giving in to nihilism. From Greek epics to comic books, the storyteller has the same agenda.

That is both the intent and the appeal of epic TV series Lost and Heroes, but declining ratings for Heroes and the growing anticipation of the fourth season of Lost suggests one has failed in its intent while the other potentially has captured that primal magic.

Heroes is a world of supernatural human potential, where a select few are capable of performing feats that defy the laws of physics. It's not a new storytelling technique. In fact it's an old one. Very old. Some supernatural beings are chosen, some have their abilities foisted on them as a great burden, but it is always under the same premise.