I hate this economy and job market

DeAnna

Just A Face in The Crowd
Reaction score
argh!!! As I've been saying for months, employers are just using the "bad economy" to unload salaries and low ball people on job offers.

So I went to an interview last week at a travel company (I have 20+ yrs experience in various aspects of travel and have a mktg. degree).

It was just for a res agent and the ad said between $10-$14 per hour. I mentioned to the interviewer I was leaning towards $14 based on my experience and background. They call me this week to make me an offer - a whopping $11/hour!! :mad:

So I was silent for a while, and told her I would get back to her. Hubby suggested try negotiating with them so when I call her back I told her if there was any way they would increase the offer, blah, blah, blah.

She says she did speak with the director but they couldn't, but they didn't want me to be unhappy so maybe after 1 year there would be a salary review and went on about how many people had applied for the job, everyone always thinks they are worth more, yada, yada, yada..

I guess I'll have to take it (for now) since hubby is also unemployed. Drive 50 miles r/t every day for $11 an hour. :bang:

Gaddabout

Plucky Comic Relief
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I guess I'll have to take it (for now) since hubby is also unemployed. Drive 50 miles r/t every day for $11 an hour. :bang:

Yeesh. That's ungainful employment. I'll keep my eye out for your industry. I do some work with CareerBuilder. On which side of town do you live?

O

LD @ F.O.H.
LEGACY MEMBER
Reaction score
argh!!! As I've been saying for months, employers are just using the "bad economy" to unload salaries and low ball people on job offers.

So I went to an interview last week at a travel company (I have 20+ yrs experience in various aspects of travel and have a mktg. degree).