Fast Break Offense

Mitch

Crawled Through 5 FB Fields
Reaction score
"The great ones always listen," NBA coach Hubie Brown told me and host of other coaches one day back in the early 1980s when we attended a Nike Coaches clinic.

Brown offered a salient example as proof. He said that in his first year as an assistant with the Milwaukee Bucks, he was assigned to coach the big men, one of whom happened to be NBA All-Star Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.

"I mean here I was a relatively unknown coach barely over six feet tall who has been assigned to coach one of the game's great centers. Jabbar could have just taken one look at me and laughed. He never did. In fact, he chose to listen to what i had to say...and I learned right then and there that the great ones always listen---because they are always trying to get better...because they are always trying to come up with new ways to gain an edge on the competition."

Brown proceeded to give a clinic on the fundamentals of playing the center position that none of the coaches in the crowd had ever seen anywhere---it was so precise---every aspect of it, from the footwork to the body positioning, to the arm maneuverings.

When I brought this knowledge back to my high school basketball team---what Brown taught me enabled my smallish 6'2" center to average 17.5 ppg and 11.4 rpg and 5.6 apg---which garnered him All-League recognition. All because he had not only the fundamentals down pat, but the confidence that comes with having the competitive edge.

Fast forward to this past Sunday when the Patriots ran a no-huddle hurry-up offense versus the Broncos that was so fast and furious that they ran 89 plays, gained 35 first downs (a team record), gained over 200 yards on the ground and over 300 yards in the air which propelled them to a 31-7 lead---all this because Bill Belichick became fascinated with Chip Kelly's "Faster Show on Turf" offense at Oregon and decided to pick Kelly's brain on how he pulls his 52.5 ppg offense offense.