Donald's Red/White Practice Report

D-Dogg

A Whole New World
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It was nice to be back in Flag for camp; we skipped last year because of the newfan crowds. I used to work this camp when I was an NAU student (it's how I became a Cards fan), so it's always a fun time.

We camped out by Mormon Lake, combining a camping trip and training camp visit into a 24 hour period, and it worked awesome. I loved the rain, mostly fell while we were sleeping, and though I enjoy the outside practices more it was nice to sit in the dome.

There were a few players/things I wanted to focus on today, in no particular order:

Leinart
Beanie
The D-Line
LBs
Toler
O-Line
Attitude

I actually thought the practice was more laid back than most - not as physical as I was expecting based on reports and less intense than I've seen before. I think a lot of that was due to the weather, the indoors and having 10K people in the stands after signing autographs for an hour and a half. Felt "off" a bit to me until the very end.

The QB Battle or Operation Flagstaff Storm

I'll say first off, there is no real battle, just like US v. Iraq. However, the rope Matt has is going to be short. The two QBs are very different - Matt has better touch on his throws, while DA has enormous velocity on his. DA looked good today in the first run with the O, and not as good the second time around. He makes quick decisions, but doesn't adapt when the rush is on him. I don't see him making a strong push on Matt this year, but he's damn good enough to win games if Matt goes down and to push Matt to protect his job.