Official "I can't keep up with technology" thread

MrYeahBut

4 Food groups: beans, chili, cheese, bacon
Supporting Member
Reaction score
This article is so true for me. I'm not computer illiterate but all this new tech is mind boggling. You techies will laugh at this but back in the dark ages when computers were the size of an Oldsmobile, I was a computer programmer .. RPG II/Cobol/Fortran... lol...we wrote everything from scratch. I knew how to read hexadecimal!

I STILL CAN'T GET MY DVR TO STOP DROPPING INTERNET!

the entire tech industry forgets constantly: most people have no idea how anything actually works, and are already hopelessly confused by the tech they have.

Count me among the masses!

https://www.theverge.com/2019/1/6/18170272/everything-is-too-complicated-2019

OP
OP
MrYeahBut

MrYeahBut

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I hate Google contacts. Try as I might, I can't get it to sort consistently from one platform to another.... Android/desktop/voip phone. I want it to sort by company name, one it does Company, ABC another shows how I want it.. Plus Gmail sucks, user interface is nonexistent etc. I love my Outlook contacts but voip won't load it to my work phone.

OP
OP
MrYeahBut

MrYeahBut

Supporting Member
Reaction score
My company website needs constant updates. I have to take time to monitor it.. Send suggestions to SEO, then review the changes they send me which are full of errors and bad design . . Do these people even look at what the hell changes do to the mobile optimized version??

OP
OP
MrYeahBut

MrYeahBut

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website continued... I've tried several different web design/SEO companies. They all asked me how I want the website.. WTH?? YOU'RE THE FREAKING DESIGN PROFESSIONAL, WHY THE HELL ARE YOU ASKING ME??? WTH DO I KNOW ABOUT SEO???

I would welcome any criticism/suggestions desktop or mobile.

www.bdcdoor.com

OP
OP
MrYeahBut

MrYeahBut

Supporting Member
Reaction score