Laugh if you want…

oaken1

Stone Cold
Supporting Member
Banned from P+R
Reaction score
Any of you ever actually look at Patrick Mahomes contract?
The numbers are huge but the structure is pretty team friendly.

Sign kyler now, while we can still get him for 45-47mil a year. Make it long term, structure it with an easy out built in.

There are only two options...
Rookie quarterback...or...
Paying a guy $40+mil a season.
Any quarterback you get for less is usually not worth having.

Worst case scenario is he tanks,we have to cut him,and we are in cap purgatory a year or two...
That time in cap hell allows us to go 3-14 ...get a couple of top 3 picks, draft a QB...and go back to option 1

Quarterback on a rookie contract.

oaken1

Stone Cold
Supporting Member
Banned from P+R
Reaction score
Honestly I’ve been praying for this team to draft a franchise QB for 30+ years. We may or may not have one in Kyler (I see the arguments for both sides) and the issue on whether the cards should extend him or not is frustrating.

The prevailing concensus is that most of kylers issues are maturity related.
It's common for guys that are twenty nuthin to have maturity issues. Historically speaking most guys get past them and grow.
The entire contract issue is just a gamble on whether or not we think kyler will mature.
Some guys don't.

It ain't my money. Mikey B is gonna pay SOMEbody, so just pay the dynamic kid with the great deep ball....and let's see what happens

Harry

ASFN Consultant and Senior Writer
Reaction score
Harry, please chime in.