Fishing Advice

MrYeahBut

4 Food groups: beans, chili, cheese, bacon
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Good for you. I'm no expert but you can see from the pic below that I can catch fish! I caught this Northern Pike on Friday... Of course, I was fishing in North Dakota and there's fish in practically every pond/river/lake.

For starters, it depends on where (lake, stream etc) and what you want to fish for (trout/bass etc).

A good quality rod that is in sections is great for the camping you do. It collapses and fits into a small space. It also largely avoids the stress of worrying about breaking it. Eagle Claw is what I used to start with. Quality is good and not expensive. Shimano is a good brand for reels. You most likely would want a spin casting reel. Spin casting outfit is versatile. You can bank fish a lake, river fish with lures or live bait) or troll from a boat (you're a troll so that should come easy for you, lol)

If you're talking about fly fishing, I can't help you because that's a disease all its own. Take lessons for that.

If you get a spinning outfit, put a sinker of some type and practice in your back yard. Accuracy is important.

@Russ Smith is a fisherman and he may be able to help you more than I can.

There is a dizzying array of tackle and that depends on what you want to catch and how you are going to do it.

I caught this fish on a red and white Daredevil which was invented, oh maybe 100 years ago...ha! Don't be intimidad by having to have the latest greatest thing.

Don't get discouraged. There's a knack to it and some people are naturals.

Good luck.

You must be registered for see images attach

Russ Smith

The Original Whizzinator
Supporting Member
Reaction score