Now the story can be told . . . (kinda long)

Reaction score
Enough time has now passed, with all of the principals either dead or long retired, that I can tell this.

I am a professional historian, now retired. For many years while I lived in Phoenix, I was a devout Suns fan, often with season tickets right in the middle of the Madhouse on McDowell. I began to watch in person in the early 1970s when Connie Hawkins was here.

Despite moving away, I still followed the Suns closely always going to games when here. In the early 1990s, I struck up a conversation with Tom Ambrose, then the PR Director for the Suns. I suggested that the team needed a good, accurate history of the team---"The Franchise" about the Detroit Pistons had just come out and I thought that was a great book and even though the Suns had not yet won a title, they deserved the same quality book. Abrose agreed.

The Suns hired me, gave me a 50% advance, opened up their archives, and set up interviews. I brought in another history professor friend of mine who knew basketball and who was also a Suns fan. (FYI, I know little technically about basketball: somehow, I ended up as an assistant NCAA coach for one semester from a small Wisconsin school that was desperate.) Anyway, over the next several months we went through all the archives, and I interviewed (among those I can remember), Jerry Colangelo (several times) Neal Walk, Lamar Green, Kevin Johnson, Tom Chambers, James Edwards, as well as opposing players such as Rick Barry. Had sent sample draft chapters to Ambrose. He approved them, but I also assumed he had shown them to Colangelo, who had also approved.

Was I wrong.