Internet Connectivity

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Chaplin, Aug 20, 2018.

  1. MrYeahbut

    MrYeahbut rilly bruh, rilly?? Contributor

    Posts:
    11,281
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Albq
    wireless bridge
     
  2. puckhead

    puckhead Waxing Gibbous Contributor

    Posts:
    6,550
    Likes Received:
    2,196
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    Moment, AZ
    Sometimes those can be flaky. I use one in my bedroom DirecTV receiver and I have to reboot it once every couple of months. But it's really nice to be able to share content between DVRs in both rooms. My living room receiver is hardwired to the router and it's solid as a rock.
     
  3. MrYeahbut

    MrYeahbut rilly bruh, rilly?? Contributor

    Posts:
    11,281
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Albq
    I've got no way to hard wire the DVR. I also have the wireless Genie system and that works on the 2 other TV's in the house without any problems. Maybe I'll try resetting the bridge....Please stay online until after midnight to help me when I inevitably have problems....


    j/k... I haven't been up past 9.30pm in a decade.
     
  4. puckhead

    puckhead Waxing Gibbous Contributor

    Posts:
    6,550
    Likes Received:
    2,196
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    Moment, AZ
    Ha! I turn into a pumpkin by then. :lol:
     
  5. Shaggy

    Shaggy Site Owner Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    7,149
    Likes Received:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona
    Have you ever tried powerline? Its 2 adapters you plug into your wall sockets and then you plug in your ethernet cables to those. It allows data(internet) to travel through your power lines. I had this on my older home dish setup. I didn't have a ethernet connection near my dish DVR so I bought a powerline setup, plugged one near the router and then plugged the other behind my dvr receiver. Worked like a charm and never dropped connection.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_8?k=powerline+adapter&sprefix=power

    I went with the netgear ones.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2018
  6. MrYeahbut

    MrYeahbut rilly bruh, rilly?? Contributor

    Posts:
    11,281
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Albq

    Thanks Shaggy, I'll look into this
     
  7. jf-08

    jf-08 Administrator; Rules Creator Staff Member

    Posts:
    14,692
    Likes Received:
    600
    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Location:
    Chandler
    This has happened to me several times within the past month or so. It doesn't make sense, but I'm glad to hear that I'm not the only one experiencing this. I unplug my DirecTV unit for 30 seconds and after it re-boots, things seem to go back to normal.
     
  8. Russ Smith

    Russ Smith The Original Whizzinator Contributor

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    52,463
    Likes Received:
    2,565
    Joined:
    May 14, 2002

    I used Powerline when renting a house in Sacramento and it worked great. and in our case solved the problem of Amazon Prime dropping the wireless connection. we also had Directv and had the exact same problem with the DVR disconnecting etc. When I called to complain they said it was unusual, clearly it is isn't from the posts here and the posts in online forums.

    Also there are the powerline adapters that do wireless, adn there are those that also allow you to plug in ethernet to the adapter and then to whatever device. Mine did both and also had a plug so you plugged it in, but didn't lose a plug as the face of the adapter had a plug for you to plug something else into. Don't need it in my apartment but I have it packed away for later when we move.
     

Share This Page