Connecting to Internet Problems

jf-08

Guy Smiley
Administrator
Super Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 15, 2002
Posts
26,277
Reaction score
20,644
Location
Eye in the Sky
I run a new HP MediaCenter Computer.

We run Windows XP.

Have Norton Firewall, Cable Modem - brand new.

About 50% of the time we cannot connect to the internet.

If we restart the computer, for some reason we can.

Sometimes when browsing, the puter freezes & we lose connection - get the white screen that says page isn't accessible, detect netwrok settings, etc.

We have the default levels set on Iternet options for security and privacy.

Anyone have any ideas on how to do this.

We had an old computer running Windows 98 and never had this problem. It isn't the modem or service provider.
 
OP
OP
jf-08

jf-08

Guy Smiley
Administrator
Super Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 15, 2002
Posts
26,277
Reaction score
20,644
Location
Eye in the Sky
I think it may be the Norton Firewall - Ruyan - have you had any problems with this firewall?

It won't allow us to check our Yahoo E-mail. When we go to that site, it "locks" us out of the IE. It gives us the white scree of non-availability.

When I change it to Zone Alarm, it seems to work fine.

I'll try this for a few days.
 

KingofCards

My Hero
LEGACY MEMBER
Joined
May 13, 2002
Posts
11,918
Reaction score
1
It is all that child porn who have saved on your hard drive. :D
 

Ryanwb

ASFN IDOL
BANNED BY MODERATORS
Joined
May 13, 2002
Posts
35,576
Reaction score
6
Location
Mesa
JFK....

It would have to be your firewall.... For some reason it is blocking certain sites.... you may have the settings set too high

If you have run windowsupdate and have all your current updates...you can actually disable the firewall. Sometimes you can actually over do it a bit
 

Pariah

H.S.
Supporting Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Posts
35,345
Reaction score
18
Location
The Aventine
Ryanwb said:
JFK....

It would have to be your firewall.... For some reason it is blocking certain sites.... you may have the settings set too high

If you have run windowsupdate and have all your current updates...you can actually disable the firewall. Sometimes you can actually over do it a bit
I was having the same problem. I disabled the firewal and it cleared it up.
 
OP
OP
jf-08

jf-08

Guy Smiley
Administrator
Super Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
May 15, 2002
Posts
26,277
Reaction score
20,644
Location
Eye in the Sky
KingofCards said:
It is all that child porn who have saved on your hard drive. :D
dude - that isn't even funny - I know you were joking but there are some really sick people in this world.
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
542,885
Posts
5,314,022
Members
6,290
Latest member
stbmd
Top