Interest rates.

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by az240zz, Feb 6, 2018.

1. az240zz

az240zz Registered Contributor

I'm buying a home and I've been quoted an interest rate of 4.625%. Should i lock this or what is the collective feeling about it going down??

2. Dback Jon

Dback Jon Killer Snail Contributor

Lock it. Rates are only going up.

But first - what term?

3. 82CardsGrad

82CardsGrad 7 x 70

I'm no expert... and even the experts aren't so "expert" on this topic. However, the overwhelming consensus is that rates are absolutely going higher. The 10 Year Bond Yield is at the highest levels since 2014. And again, the overwhelming sentiment is that it will be over 3 by the 4th quarter of this year.

Historically speaking, a 4.625% rate is extremely low. Personally, I find it hard to believe that the rates we've seen over the past 8 years or so, would remain at these levels. That hardly, if ever happens.
    So - if it were me and you are absolutely going to buy a home, I would lock in the rate... But again, for all I know rates can plummet... And hey - you know how are POTUS is going to make everything GREAT again so maybe he'll get those rates down lower than they were when the evil Obama was in the White House...

4. az240zz

30 year. I can always make it a 15 yr by paying more..

5. az240zz

I thought that maybe the rate might drop a little based on the stock market gyrations.

6. Dback Jon

Dback Jon Killer Snail Contributor

If you can afford a 15-year, do it. Will save tens of thousands over the long run, and should be able to get a lower rate.

jf-08 and Brian in Mesa like this.
  7. 82CardsGrad

82CardsGrad 7 x 70

You'll find a lower rate on a 15 year loan... If you can swing the higher payment, it's worth it.

Brian in Mesa likes this.
  8. az240zz

I can't, probably going to own the house for 5 years or so.

9. MrYeahbut

MrYeahbut rilly bruh, rilly?? Contributor